• Home
  • Chancellor approves promotion, tenure for faculty

Chancellor approves promotion, tenure for faculty

Friday, April 19, 2013

LAWRENCE — Chancellor Bernadette Gray-Little has approved promotion and the award of tenure where indicated for 65 individuals at the University of Kansas Lawrence and Edwards campuses and 56 individuals at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

“Congratulations to this year’s accomplished group of individuals,” said Gray-Little. “As a major research university it is important we create an environment where our faculty and researchers aspire to new heights and receive recognition for their ongoing achievements in their scholarly fields and teaching. I also offer my sincere gratitude to the University Committee on Promotion and Tenure for their thorough review of this year’s eligible individuals.”

Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor Jeff Vitter chairs the University Committee on Promotion and Tenure. “This year the committee evaluated a particularly strong group of candidates,” said Vitter. “The committee was particularly impressed by the candidates' accomplishments and dedication across the broad spectrum of disciplines. They are representative of the comprehensive research and educational excellence of KU.”

Douglas Girod, M.D., executive vice chancellor at the University of Kansas Medical Center, said, “I echo the Chancellor's congratulations, and I'm proud of our recently promoted faculty and their achievements in teaching, research and service. It's an honor to work with such outstanding scholars and educators who have the utmost respect of their colleagues and students. This is also an opportunity to thank the Promotion and Tenure Committees of the Schools of Health Professions, Nursing and Medicine for their diligent efforts to complete the peer review process.”

University of Kansas Lawrence and Edwards campuses

To full professor (those listed in bold are in the College of Liberal Arts & Sciences):

  • Ruth Ann Atchley, psychology
  • Luis Corteguera, history
  • Cynthia Colwell Dunn, music
  • Stephen Egbert, geography /senior scientist, Kansas Biological Survey
  • Peter Herlihy, geography
  • John Hoopes, anthropology
  • Danny Marfatia, physics & astronomy
  • Adolfo Matamoros, civil, environmental & architectural engineering
  • Jeff Moran, history
  • Michael Murray, physics & astronomy
  • Susan Scholz, business
  • Milena Stanislavova, mathematics
  • John Staniunas, theatre
  • Jeff Staudinger, pharmacology and toxicology
  • Sherrie Tucker, American studies
  • Michael Vitevitch, psychology
  • Susan Williams, chemical & petroleum engineering

To associate professor with tenure:

  • Brian D. Ackley, molecular biosciences
  • Christina Bejarano, political science
  • Caroline Bennett, civil, environmental & architectural engineering
  • Benjamin Chappell, American studies
  • Jay Childers, communication studies
  • Michael M. Davidson, music
  • Christopher Depcik, mechanical engineering
  • Claudia L. Dozier, applied behavioral sciences
  • William Elliott III, social welfare
  • M. Laird Forrest, pharmaceutical chemistry
  • Jeff Hall, communication studies
  • Heidi L. Hallman, curriculum & teaching
  • David M. Hansen, psychology & research in education
  • Mark T. Holder, ecology & evolutionary biology
  • Timothy Jackson, chemistry
  • David Kevin Johnson, psychology/associate scientist, gerontology
  • Jay Truman Johnson, geography
  • Maki Kaneko, art history
  • ChangHwan Kim, sociology
  • Prasad Kulkarni, electrical engineering & computer science
  • Mark Landau, psychology
  • Tracey LaPierre, sociology
  • Young-Jin Lee, educational leadership & policy studies
  • Craig Marshall, geology
  • Craig McLaughlin, aerospace engineering
  • David B. Mechem, geography
  • Meagan Patterson, psychology & research in education
  • Paul Popiel, music
  • Gregory Rudnick, physics & astronomy
  • Argun Saatcioglu, educational leadership & policy studies
  • Philip Stinson, classics
  • Belinda Sturm, civil, environmental & architectural engineering
  • Nina Vyatkina, germanic language & literatures
  • Crispin Williams, east asian languages & cultures
  • Yan (Diana) Wu, business
  • Zheng (Jane) Zhao, business

Tenure only

  • James Basham, special education
  • Clinton D. Chadwick, business

To associate librarian

  • Amalia Monroe-Gullick, University Libraries
  • Christopher Steadham, Wheat Law Library
  • William Blake Wilson, Wheat Law Library

To librarian

  • Whitney Baker, University Libraries
  • Fran Devlin, University Libraries

Research and Graduate Studies

  • Janis Bulgren, Center for Research on Learning, to research professor
  • Gaisheng Liu, Kansas Geological Survey, to associate scientist
  • Kerry Newell, Kansas Geological Survey, to associate scientist
  • Patricia Noonan, Center for Research on Learning, to associate research professor
  • Xinkun Wang, Higuchi Bioscience Center, to associate research professor