• Home
  • March 2015 faculty and staff kudos

March 2015 faculty and staff kudos

Thursday, March 26, 2015

Darren Canady assistant professor of English was named as a 2015 University of Kansas Men of Merit. The award recognizes a group of students, faculty and staff positively defining masculinity through challenging norms, taking action and leading by example while making contributions to university and/or the community. This project is coordinated and sponsored by the Emily Taylor Center for Women & Gender Equity.

Tyrone Duncan professor of mathematics and courtesy professor of electrical engineering and computer science was named a 2015 Simons Fellowship recipient.

The American Society for Public Administration has honored professors Charles Epp, School of Public Affairs & Administration; Steven Maynard-Moody, School of Public Affairs & Administration and director of the Institute for Policy & Social Research, and Don Haider-Markel, chair of the Department of Political Science, for "Pulled Over: How Police Stops Define Race and Citizenship," with the 2015 Best Book Award from the Section on Public Administration Research. The award was formally announced at the ASPA conference on March 7, in Chicago.

Scott Harris associate specialist of communication studies and director of debate was recognized with the Brownlee Award as the National Debate Coach of Year.

Samantha Montague education program coordinator in the College was named KU's employee of the month for her work on the new online degree completion program, which helps students with previous college experience finish out their degrees online.

Email clasnews@ku.edu about your or a colleague's awards, honors or distinctions to be included in the next College Kudos.