• Home
  • KU announces new members of Phi Beta Kappa honor society

KU announces new members of Phi Beta Kappa honor society

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

LAWRENCE — The University of Kansas Alpha chapter of Phi Beta Kappa academic honor society has initiated 78 new members.

Meagan Patterson, president of KU’s Phi Beta Kappa chapter and professor of educational psychology, presided at the May 13 ceremony immediately before university commencement. David Slusky, vice president of the chapter and professor of economics, welcomed and congratulated the new initiates as they received their Phi Beta Kappa certificates.

Chancellor Douglas A. Girod was inducted as an honorary member of the chapter. He gave an address titled “A Complete Education.”

Toni Rufledt, senior in psychology and sociology, who was inducted last year as a junior and served as a student co-president of the chapter, gave the student response address.

Election to Phi Beta Kappa recognizes a student’s high academic achievement while pursuing a broad and substantive liberal arts curriculum, including language study. To be eligible for consideration for membership, most students must have senior status and a minimum grade-point average of 3.65 on a 4.0 scale. Students elected as juniors must have a 3.8 grade-point average.

Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest national academic honorary society, was founded Dec. 5, 1776, at the College of William and Mary in Williamsburg, Virginia. KU’s Alpha chapter, founded in 1890, was the first chapter west of the Mississippi and is one of 286 Phi Beta Kappa chapters nationwide. About 10 percent of institutions of higher learning in the United States have Phi Beta Kappa chapters. Secretary-Treasurer of the KU Chapter is Anne Wallen, Program Director of the Office of Fellowships in Undergraduate Studies.

In-state students
Owen Brown, junior, Abilene
Garrett Schuman, junior, Bennington
Hunter Lindquist, senior, Brookville
Lauren Cassidy, senior, Columbus
Sarah McCarthy, senior, El Dorado
Tirzah Chesky, senior, Halstead
Sana Cheema, senior, Hays
Abigail Berland, senior, Lawrence
Alex Burdge, senior, Lawrence
David Easley, senior, Lawrence
Stephanie Emig, senior, Lawrence
Megan Hansen, senior, Lawrence
Emily Hoy, senior, Lawrence
Kaitlyn Johnson, senior, Lawrence
Lynne Oyler, junior, Lawrence
Meeli Patel, junior, Lawrence
Katherine Rorick, senior, Lawrence
Nicole Vanahill, senior, Lawrence
Rebecca Reilly, senior, Leavenworth
Rusha Bajpai, senior, Leawood
Joseph Pickert, junior, Leawood
Kristin Teahan, senior, Leawood
Matthew Hoskins, senior, Lenexa
Addison Lake, junior, Lenexa
Sara Neel, senior, Lenexa
Tanner Myers, junior, Louisburg
Kari McClure, senior, Lyons
Joseph McConnell, senior, Newton
Chris Fairleigh, senior, Olathe
Rachel Jenkins, junior, Olathe
Ashley Reece, senior, Olathe
Jennifer Bryan, junior, Overland Park
Joseph Bush, senior, Overland Park
Jason Frederick, junior, Overland Park
Jonathan Jarrell, senior, Overland Park
Taylor Morton, junior, Overland Park
Catherine Pham, junior, Overland Park
Mitchell Reinig, junior, Overland Park
Lilah Wilder, junior, Overland Park
Madylan Womack, senior, Overland Park
Conner Falke, junior, Parsons
Hannah Gibson, senior, Perry
Jacob Milgrim, junior, Prairie Village
Kate Poulose, senior, Shawnee
Devin Steinhauser, senior, Shawnee
Cheyenne Griffith, senior, Topeka
Sierra Hurd, senior, Topeka
Madison Wallace, senior, Topeka
E Fahn Wang, senior, Topeka
Maija Gierhart, junior, Valley Center
Elizabeth Orr, senior, Westwood
Daniela Calderon, senior, Wichita, 67207
Quinn Maetzold, senior, Wichita, 67203
Out-of-state students
Sarah Anderson, senior, Lowell
Olivia Pearl, senior, Los Angeles
Mattea Keister, junior, Golden
Dianna Koesterer, junior, O'Fallon
Anne Marie Foley, senior, Indianapolis
Sion Bell, senior, Laurel
Carissa Bell, senior, Sault Sainte Marie
Bridget Rennard, junior, Chesterfield
Grace Carlson, senior, Kansas City, 64155
Kimberly Fryer, senior, Kansas City, 64113
Sarah Cluff, junior, St. Louis, 63119
Andie Kindsvater, senior, St. Louis, 63005
Tanya Grover, senior, Wildwood
New Mexico
Emma Easom, senior, Albuquerque
Gabbi Rao, senior, Tulsa
Amber Johnson, senior, Austin
Mariah Black, senior, Beaumont
Sarah Lewis, senior, Dallas
Lowrie Reniger, senior, Dallas
Kathryn Ammon, junior, Fort Worth
Parker Bednasek, senior, Mansfield
Annie Santarelli, senior, Kenosha
Charles Jetty, junior, Madison
International students
Diana Vallejo Hidalgo, senior, Lima, Peru
Shih Yen Pan, junior, Zhubei City, Taiwan