• Home
  • KU announces 2018-19 Staff Fellows

KU announces 2018-19 Staff Fellows

Thursday, September 20, 2018

LAWRENCE — Carl Lejuez, interim provost and executive vice chancellor, and Mike Rounds, vice provost for operations, have announced the 2018-2019 class of Staff Fellows at the University of Kansas.

The Staff Fellows Program makes KU a stronger institution by providing university staff an opportunity to build their leadership skills, gain experience to advance their careers and work together on a project that benefits the university. Staff Fellows participate in skill and leadership development, and each participant is matched with a mentor from KU’s senior leadership. Through the program, Staff Fellows gain broader knowledge and a deeper understanding of the university.

“Our talented and dedicated staff members are the backbone of the university. Our investment in their professional development is an investment in the future of our institution,” Lejuez said.

During the course of the yearlong program, participants work together on a strategic campus initiative to improve KU. The 2018-2019 Staff Fellows will focus on a project that examines and evaluates the effectiveness of internal services throughout the campus and how community members support one another during these experiences. With their findings, they will propose an internal service delivery framework for the university.

The Office of the Provost and Human Resource Management jointly coordinate the Staff Fellows program, with a review committee selecting the participants. Sixteen Staff Fellows were selected this year from a particularly strong pool of applicants.

“Over the past 11 years, the Staff Fellows program has evolved into one of the most valued experiences for KU staff,” Rounds said. “I am fortunate to work closely with the participants each year and to get to know them personally. I am always inspired by the commitment, energy and enthusiasm they show for the University of Kansas.”

Visit the Human Resource Management website for more information about the Staff Fellows program and previous years’ projects.

The 2018-2019 Staff Fellows:

Ruth Allenbrand, manager, College & Professional Schools Shared Service Center

Kelly Blackburn, assistant director of administration, Center for Educational Opportunity Programs

Ben Brown, digital fabrication specialist, School of Architecture & Design

Stefani Buchwitz, program manager, Madison and Lila Self Graduate Fellowship

E-Lu Chen, instructional designer, Center for Online and Distance Learning

Matthew Deakyne, technology manager, Information Technology

Sarah Denning, grants specialist, Education, Social & Biobehavioral Shared Service Center

Elizabeth Kanost, communications manager, Spencer Museum of Art

Sarah Kirk, director of KU Psychological Clinic, Department of Psychology

Emily Lowrance-Floyd, program manager, Faculty Development

Brian Moss, reference services manager, KU Libraries

Keeli Nelson, scholar advisor, Office of International Programs

Bill Novotny, assistant custodial supervisor, Facilities Services

Mindie Paget, director of external affairs, School of Law

Melissa Smith, executive associate to the provost, Office of the Provost

Robert Szrot, research compliance officer, Office of Research.