• Home
  • KU announces 2017 Kansas Certified Public Manager Program graduates

KU announces 2017 Kansas Certified Public Manager Program graduates

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

LAWRENCE – The University of Kansas Public Management Center is proud to announce this year’s graduates of the Kansas Certified Public Manager program. The graduation ceremony will take place at 10 a.m. Friday, Dec. 1, in the House Chamber at the Capitol in Topeka. University of Kansas Chancellor Douglas A. Girod will attend as a special guest and make remarks to the graduates.  

The 85 graduates, who began their coursework in January, represent local, county, state or federal agencies from across Kansas. They participated in classes held in Topeka as well as the Kansas City and Southeast Kansas areas.

Of these participants, 21 are graduates of the Law Enforcement Leadership Academy (LELA) Command School who completed their CPM certification through classroom instruction and online work.  While they were recognized last week at the Kansas Law Enforcement Training Center, they will be included in the graduation ceremony in Topeka.

“The Kansas CPM program is a dynamic and engaging certification program of 300 contact hours that uses a Capstone project as the final exam and course materials that inspire new ways of thinking and innovative approaches to solving problems,” said Terri Callahan, program manager.

“I am very impressed with the caliber and dedication of the CPM graduates. Their love for public service and leadership is evident by their commitment and dedication to their organizations, communities, and the citizens they serve. We feel very fortunate to have the chancellor coming to show his support of this program.”

The Kansas CPM program is a professional education opportunity for managers working in government agencies, nonprofits and organizations that contract to provide public services and meet community needs. CPM is a nationally accredited management program and certification in which participants develop and strengthen their management skills through a competency-based curriculum. Nearly 1,600 CPM graduates have earned the nationally recognized emblem of management excellence through the Kansas program.

The CPM program can fill a training gap for staff with significant technical expertise who seek to further their knowledge of current management practices. The Kansas program offers a blended learning approach of classroom hours, online learning and outside assignments to meet 300 hours of structured learning. The curriculum addresses personal and organizational integrity, managing work, leading people, developing self, public service and leadership during times of change. Along the way, participants complete a capstone project focused on an opportunity for cost savings, revenue generation, process improvement or innovation in their workplace.

Participants meet in the classroom two days per month for one year, starting in January. In 2018, CPM will be offered in two locations, Topeka and Kansas City, as the Public Management Center prepares for re-accreditation. A third cohort will be added in 2019.  For more information or to apply, visit the KU Public Management Center’s website or contact Terri Callahan at tcallahan@ku.edu or 785-864-6864.

The list of graduates is below:

Atchison County
Theodore Graf, City of Atchison Fire Department

Bourbon County
Fort Scott
Dustin McClure, City of Fort Scott

Butler County
City of Augusta
Josh Shaw, City of Augusta

Crawford County
Karen Buck, City of Girard

Christopher Farinacci, City of Pittsburg
Diana Fries, Pittsburg Police Department
Benjamin Henderson, City of Pittsburg Police
Stacie Perry, City of Pittsburg

Douglas County
Casey Cooper, Lawrence Police Department
Heather Dill, Douglas County
Kristine Latta, University of Kansas College Office of Graduate Affairs
Shannon Parker, City of Lawrence Police
Darnell Perkins, Kansas Department of Corrections
Amy Rhoads, Lawrence Kansas Police Department
Jason Stowe, City of Lawrence
Sandra Urish, University of Kansas School of Pharmacy
John Williams, City of Lawrence

Ellis County
Jeff Crispin, City of Hays
Timothy Huck, City of Hays

Ford County
Dodge City
Jerad Goertzen, Dodge City Police Department

Franklin County
David Buehler, City of Ottawa

Harvey County
Jason Thompson, Newton Police Department

Johnson County
Lenexa and Shawnee
Dusty Sease, WaterOne

Paul Hecker, City of Olathe Olathe
Tracy Jarrett, City of Olathe
Michell Prothe, Kansas Schools for the Deaf and Blind
Kent Rettig, City of Olathe
Vicki Webster, City of Olathe

Jason Brunner, City of Shawnee Police Department
Caitlin Gard, City of Shawnee
Tonya Lecuru, City of Shawnee
Vanessa Vaughn West, City of Olathe

Overland Park
Pamela Fortun-Young, City of Overland Park

Prairie Village
Myron Ward, Prairie Village Police Department

Leavenworth County
Tyler Fast, Leavenworth County Sheriff's Office

Montgomery County
Stephanie Richardson, City of Coffeyville
Robert Roesky, City of Coffeyville Fire

Jerry Harrison, Independence Police Department
Michael Passauer, City of Independence

Neosho County
Todd Newman, City of Chanute

Phillips County
Timothy Driggs, City of Phillipsburg

Pottawatomie County
Jared Barnes, Pottawatomie County Fire
Danielle Trego, Pottawatomie County

Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation
Terry Clark, Prairie Band Potawatomi Tribal Police

Reno County
Shawn McHaley, Reno County Sheriff's Office
John Taylor, Hutchinson Police Department

Rice County
Audree Aguilera, City of Lyons

Riley County
Diane Doehling, Riley County Police Department
Constance Ellis, Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Brad Jager, Riley County Police Department

Sedgwick County
Park City
Daniela Rivas, City of Park City

Valley Center
Scott Hildebrand, City of Valley Center

Shawnee County
Mitchell Beemer, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Kate Cooley, League of Kansas Municipalities
Jennifer Cross, Topeka Police Department
Andrew Dean, Kansas Highway Patrol
Christine Hamman, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Marion Harrison, League of Kansas Municipalities
David Hutchings, Kansas Bureau of Investigation
Dustin Karr, Kansas Juvenile Correctional Complex
Joshua Kellerman, Kansas Highway Patrol
Kenton Lewis, Shawnee County Sheriff's Office
Tara Mahin, Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Susana Pjesky, Kansas Department of Health and Environment
John Sturgeon, Topeka Police Department
Daniel Zeller, City of Topeka

Washington County
Justin Cordry, Washington County Sheriff's Office

Wyandotte County
Kansas City
Raymond Jr. Nuñez, Kansas City, KS Police Department 
Jessica Ramirez, Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas
Brent Thompson, Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas
Matthew Willard, Unified Government of Wyandotte County/Kansas City, Kansas


Saint Charles County
City of Saint Charles
Matthew Seeds, City of Saint Charles